Hong Sang-soo

Hong Sang-soo
Hong Sang-soo was born in Seoul, South Korea in 1960. After studying in Korea, California and Chicago, he spent several months at the Cinémathèque Française in Paris. He made his first feature film in 1996, The Day a Pig Fell Into the Well. He has won numerous awards including a Tiger Award at IFF Rotterdam for his first film, Un Certain Regard at Cannes for HaHaHa in 2010, and the Golden Leopard at Locarno in 2015 for Right Now, Wrong Then. In 2011 the Cinémathèque Française devoted a first retrospective to him and in 2016 he won the Grand Prix d’honneur at FIDMarseille.

Filmography (as director):
1996  The Day A Pig Fell Into The Well
1998  The Power of Kangwon Province
2000  Virgin Stripped Bare by her Bachelors
2002  Turning Gate
2004  Woman is the Future of Man
2005  A Tale of Cinema
2006  Woman On The Beach
2008  Night and Day
2009  Like You Know It All
2009 – Eo-Ddeon Bang-Moon (segment “Lost in the Mountains”)
2009 – Cheopcheopsanjung
2010 – Oki’s Movie
2010 – Hahaha
2011 – List
2011 – The Day He Arrives
2012 – In Another Country
2013 – Nobody’s Daughter Haewon
2013 – Our Sunhi
2013 – Venice 70: Future Reloaded
2014 – Hill Of Freedom
2015 – Right Now, Wrong Then
2016 – Yourself and Yours
2017 – Claire’s Camera
2017 – On the Beach at Night Alone
2018 – Hotel by the River

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.